Current Affairs
Select Date

Union cabinet gives approval to 6 New IITs

Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 May 2016 gave its ex-facto approval to the Amendment to The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 for incorporation of six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs).
•    These six new IITs will be based in :
•    Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh
•    Palakkad in Kerala
•    Dharwar in Karnataka
•    Bhilai in Chhattisgarh
•    Goa
•    Jammu in Jammu & Kashmir
•    The above Amendment is also for conversion of Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad into an IIT by bringing it into the ambit of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 and also declaring it as an institute of national importance.
•    The cabinet also gave ex post facto approval to set up NIT, Andhra Pradesh which has been registered as a Society under the Andhra Pradesh Societies Registration Act, 2001. The approval will give a legal entity to the NIT.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers