Current Affairs
Select Date

Ravichandran Ashwin wins Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016

Ravichandran Ashwin on 22 December 2016 won the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.
●    Ashwin was chosen for the award after being adjudged the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Cricketer of the Year. With this, he became the second Indian player after Rahul Dravid to bag the two prestigious prizes in the same year.
●    Ace cricketer Sachin Tendulkar was awarded with the prestigious trophy in the year 2010. The other recipients of the Sir Garfield Trophy include Andrew Flintoff, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Mitchell Johnson among others.
●    Ravichandran Ashwin is a right-handed batsman and right-arm off break bowler.
●    He plays for the Rising Pune Supergiants in the IPL.
●    Ashwin is the fastest Indian bowler to reach the 50-, 100-, 150- and 200-wicket mark in Test cricket.
●    He is the only bowler of recent times apart from Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka to bowl the carrom ball.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers