Current Affairs
Select Date

"Courage & Commitment" authored by Margaret Alva

A book titled Courage & Commitment: An Autobiography by Margaret Alva was in news in the second week of July 2016.
•    Via this book, Alva narrates her forty-year career under four Prime Ministers, namely Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, PV Narasimha Rao and Manmohan Singh. It also tells about her transition from politician to Governor.
•    In the book, also speaks about her denunciation of the manipulation of seats by her own party; and the events leading to her resignation in 2008 from the post of the AICC General Secretary in charge of eight states.
•    At the same time, she also offers rare insights into the lives of national and international political luminaries.
•    Margaret Alva is a political leader from the Indian National Congress
•    She was the governor Rajasthan and Uttarakhand
•    She was elected to Rajya Sabha in 1974, 1980, 1986 and 1992 as a representative of Congress
•    During her time in the Rajya Sabha, she was its vice-chairman (1983-85)
•    She also served terms as Union Minister of State in the ministries for Parliamentary Affairs, Youth and Sports and Women and Child Development, and more
•    In her HRD role, between 1985 and 1989, Alva oversaw the Rajiv Gandhi-led government's 28-point plan intended to improve the rights and involvement of women and children.
•    Her 1989 proposal that 33 percent of seats in panchayat raj (local government) elections should be reserved for women became law in 1993
•    She was elected to the 13th Lok Sabha as a Member of Parliament in 1999

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers