Current Affairs
Select Date

Pushpa Kamal Dahal elected as 39th Prime Minister of Nepal

Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist Chairperson (CPN-MC) Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' on 4 August 2016 was elected the 39th Prime Minister of Nepal.
•    Pushpa Kamal Dahal had served as the Prime Minister of the country from 2008 to 2009.
•    He led the CPN (M) as it launched a communist insurgency on 13 February 1996. In the ensuing civil war, more than 17000 Nepalese died.
•    He resigned as Prime Minister on 4 May 2009 after his attempt to sack the army chief, General Rookmangud Katawal, was opposed by President Ram Baran Yadav.
•    He is also widely known by his nom de guerre ‘Prachanda’, a name he went by during his guerrilla days.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers