Current Affairs
Select Date

Nineteen new Ministers of State (MoS) were inducted in the Union Council of Ministers.

Union Council of Ministers was reshuffled and expanded with inclusion of 19 new Ministers of State on 5 July 2016. The new inductees were administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Rashtrapati Bhavan by President Pranab Mukherjee.

Besides, Minister of State with independent charge, Prakash Javdekar was elevated to the Cabinet rank.
Of the inductees, three each are from Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat. Rajasthan has got four berths in expansion while Maharashtra two. There is one Minister each from West Bengal, Assam, Karnataka and Uttarakhand.
Of the nineteen new ministers, 17 are from the BJP, one each from Apna Dal and RPI. There are two minority leaders - MJ Akbar and SS Ahluwalia and two women Anupriya Singh Patel and Krishna Raj.
•    Faggan Singh Kulaste – A prominent tribal leader and MP from Barbati in Madhya Pradesh.
•    Surendrajeet Singh Ahluwalia – He is MP from Darjeeling.
•    Ramesh Chandappa Jigjinagi - a Dalit leader and Lok Sabha MP (five times) from Bijapur, Karnataka. 
•    Vijay Goel – He is a BJP leader from Delhi and was elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.
•    Ramdas Athawale – He is the chief of Republican Party of India.He is the lone Rajya Sabha member.
•    Rajen Gohain – He is a BJP MP from Assam.
•    Anil Madhav Dave – He is a Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh and is an environmentalist. 
•    Parshottam Rupala – He is a Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat.
•    MJ Akbar - Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh.
•    Arjun Ram Meghwal – He is a Lok Sabha MP from Bikaner, Rajasthan.
•    Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor – He is a tribal leader and a Member of the Parliament from Dahod constituency in Gujarat.
•    Dr Mahendra Nath Pandey – He is a BJP Lok Sabha MP from Chandauli, Uttar Pradesh. 
•    Ajay Tamta - He is a Lok Sabha member from the Almora constituency. 
•    Krishna Raj – She is a Dalit leader and a Lok Sabha member from UP's Shahjahanpur.
•    Mansukh Mandaviya – A native of Bhavnagar in Gujarat and  Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat.
•    Anupriya Singh Patel – She is a Lok Sabha MP from Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh. 
•    C R Chaudhary – He is a BJP MP from Nagaur, Rajasthan.
•    P P Chaudhary - He Lok sabha MP from Pali, Rajasthan and belongs the OBC Seervi caste. 
•    Dr Subhash Bhamre – He is BJP Lok Sabha MP from Dhule, Maharashtra.
Five ministers were dropped from the Council of Ministers and they are Minister of State (MoS) for Chemicals and Fertilizers Nihal Chand Meghwal, MoS HRD Ram Shankar Katheria, MoS Water Resources Sanwar Lal Jat, MoS Tribal Affairs Manuskhbhai D Vasva and MoS Agriculture MK Kundariya.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers