Current Affairs
Select Date

Justice J S Khehar appointed as 44th Chief Justice of India

Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar on 19 December 2016 was appointed as the 44th Chief Justice of India by the President Pranab Mukherjee.
●    Justice Khehar will be sworn-in as the Chief Justice of India on 4 January 2017. He will retire from his office on 27 August 2017.
●    The incumbent Chief Justice T S Thakur on 6 December 2016 had communicated his recommendation to the Union Government to appoint Justice Khehar. 
●    Justice Thakur will retire on 3 January 2017 after tenure of a year.
●    Justice Khehar will be the first Chief Justice of India from the Sikh community.
●    Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar had led the five-judge constitution bench of the Supreme Court that struck down the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) Act for the appointment of judges.
●    He also led the bench that in January 2016 set aside the imposition of President’s rule in Arunachal Pradesh.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers