Current Affairs
Select Date

Dronacharya Awards, Dhyan Chand Awards and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2015


The Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, are given to honour eminent Coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions. Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievements in Sports and Games, instituted in the year 2002, is given to honour those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, introduced in 2009,  are given to entities, both in public sector and private sector and non-governmental organizations, with a view to recognizing the contribution made to sports development. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar has four categories, namely, Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent, Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility, Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures and Sports for Development.
Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer Dronacharya Awards, Dhyan Chand Awards and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar for 2015 upon the following coaches, persons and entities.
 Dronacharya Awards 2015
1    Shri Naval Singh    Athletics-Para-sports
2    Shri Anoop Singh    Wrestling
3    Shri Harbans Singh    Athletics- Lifetime
4    Shri Swatantar Raj Singh    Boxing- Lifetime
5    Shri Nihar Ameen    Swimming-Lifetime

Dhyan Chand Award 2015
1    Mr. Romeo James    Hockey
2    Mr. Shiv Prakash Mishra    Tennis
3    Mr. T.P.P. Nair    Volleyball

 Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2015
Sl. No.    Category    Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Purushkar, 2015
1.    Identification and nurturing of budding /young talent    Directorate General of Military Training
2.    Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility    Coal India Limited
3.    Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures    Haryana Police
4.    Sports for Development    Sports Coaching Foundation, Hyderabad
The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2015.Dronacharya Awardees and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and award money of Rs.5 lakh each.  Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar awardees will receive certificates and trophies.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers