Current Affairs
Select Date

Dharamsala declared as second capital of Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh on 19 January 2017 declared Dharamsala town of Kangra district as the second Capital of the State.
●    Dharamsala is located at some 250 km from the state capital Shimla. It has its own significance and history to make it the second capital of the state.
●    This announcement is significant as 25 out of 68 assembly seats of the state fall in Kangra, Una and Hamirpur districts and Dharamsala was important for lower areas of Himachal Pradesh including Kangra, Chamba, Hamirpur and Una districts. 
●    The people of these areas will now be benefitted of this special status as now they will no longer travel longer distance to Shimla for their work.
●    Dharamsala is a city in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh and was formerly known as Bhagsu. Kangra is the largest district in the state with 15 of 68 assembly seats.

All Rights Reserved Top Rankers