Haryana Public Service Commission has set certain criteria that you must satisfy in order to apply for the Haryana PCS J Exam. This post takes you through complete details about Haryana Judiciary Exam Eligibility in terms of age, nationality, and qualification.

Haryana Civil Judge Exam Age Limit 

  • In order to apply for Haryana PCS J Exam, your minimum age should be 21 years as on 15-02-2021.
  • Your maximum age limit to apply for the exam is 42 years as of 15 February 2021.

Haryana Judiciary Preparation

Haryana Judiciary Preparation

Haryana Judiciary Age Relaxation

As per the Haryana Judiciary Eligibility Criteria, the upper age limit is relaxable in case if you belong to the reserved category. Women of Haryana receiving maintenance after separation from husband legally will also be provided age relaxation for up to 5 years.

Let us have a look at the table below to know the age relaxation for different categories.

Category Age relaxation in Upper Age Limit Highest Age allowed
Backward Class A and B of Haryana only 5 years 47 years
SC/ST Category 5 years 47 years
Unmarried Females (including divorced and separated females) 3 years 45 years
PH and PwD of Haryana 10 years 50 years
PH and PwD (belonging to SC/ST) 15 years 55 years

Haryana Judiciary Educational Qualification

  • You should have completed a Bachelor of Law degree (LLB) from a Government & Bar Council of India approved University in India to apply to apply for the exam (or)
  • You must be an Advocate enrolled under the provisions of the Advocate Act, 1961 entitled to practice in the High Court.

Haryana Judiciary Nationality

  • You must be a citizen of India (or)
  • citizen of  Nepal  (or)
  • a subject of Bhutan  (or)
  • Tibetan Refugee who came over to India, before the 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India (or)
  • Person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, and East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, and the United Republic of Tanzania (formerly-Tanganyika and Zanzibar) Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia with the intention of permanently settling in India

Haryana Judiciary Reservation Criteria

The reservation is provided for the reserved category in accordance with the orders or instructions issued by the Haryana Government from time to time.

  • If you belong to the DESM, then for all intents and purposes., you will be treated as a general category.
  •  If you are claiming dependent sons/daughters of Ex-serviceman, you must send the latest eligibility certificate issued by the Zila Sainik Board in support of your claim.
  • The reservation will be made available only if the quota reserved for Ex-servicemen or Backward Classes remains unfilled to that extend due to non-availability of suitable Ex-servicemen or their dependents or non-availability of suitable candidates from Backward Classes.
  • Note that the reservation either from the unfilled vacancies of Ex-servicemen or from the Backward Classes for Freedom Fighters or their children or grandchildren will remain limited to 2% only.


What is the minimum and maximum age limit for Haryana Judiciary Exam?

The minimum age limit is 21 years, whereas the upper limit is 42 years. There are certain reservations, and relaxations for women of Haryana, candidates from SC or backwards classes, NCC cadets, military individuals and physically handicapped candidates.

What is the minimum percentage requirement for Judicial exam in Haryana?

There is no minimum percentage requirement. Candidates must have a bachelors in law degree from a government recognized and bar council of India approved institute.

Can a practicing lawyer appear for the Haryana Judiciary Exam?

Yes, a practicing lawyer can also appear for the exam.

What is the pattern for Haryana Judicial Exam?

The exam pattern for Haryana Judicial Exam is as follows:

  1. Preliminary exam
  2. Mains Exam
  3. Viva-voce or Personal Interview round

Is age relaxation provided for reserved category candidates in Haryana Judiciary Exam?

Yes. Age relaxation is provided for candidates belonging to the reserved category. However, the upper age limit differs for each category. candidates can go through the above post to get complete details about the age relaxation for each category.