Delhi Judiciary Syllabus 2021 [Prelims & Mains]

The Delhi High Court holds the responsibility of releasing the syllabus for the Judicial Services exam. This post shall take you through the detailed Delhi Judiciary Syllabus for all stages of the selection process. 

The Delhi Judiciary Exam is conducted in three stages: Prelims, Mains, and Interview. You can enhance your preparation by knowing the important topics to be studied in prelims and mains. 

Follow our expert-designed Delhi Judiciary Preparation Tips to understand topic-wise strategies. 

Delhi Judiciary Prelims Syllabus 2021

  • The Delhi Judiciary Preliminary question paper is for 200 marks and is based on multiple-choice questions (MCQ) format that is objective in nature.
  • It is basically a screening test for the main examination.
  • The prelims hold no merit on the final score. But you need to clear this stage above the cut off to be eligible for the next stage.

The important topics to be read for clearing Delhi judiciary prelims exam are-

  • Limitation Act
  • Constitution of India
  • Specific Relief Act
  • Code of Civil Procedure
  • Evidence Act
  • Criminal Procedure Code
  • Arbitration Law
  • Indian Penal Code
  • Partnership Act
  • Contract Act
  • General Knowledge
  • English
  • Aptitude

Solving Delhi Judiciary Question Papers is one of the best-suggested preparation methods for clearing the exam with a high score. 

rajasthan Mock Test

Judiciary Mock Test

Delhi Judiciary Mains Syllabus 2021

  • The Delhi Judiciary Main Examination is an essay type with a total score of 850 marks.
  • The DJS syllabus for mains includes four different sections, each covering a vast amount of topics.
  • Upon clearing the main examination, you are called for the viva voce stage.

The Delhi Judiciary Syllabus for the second stage of the Delhi judiciary Exam that needs to be studied in detail includes:

Language and General Knowledge

  • This section is further divided into two sub-sections.
  • Section I comprises the area of general knowledge. 
  • In the general knowledge section, current legal situations, events, and topics are put forward.
  • This section has a total of 150 marks.
  • The next sub-section is the language that comprises 100 marks
  • Here, précis writing, translations, and related skills will be tested.
  • Both knowledge and expression power in English is credited.
  • Negative marking is given in this sub-section owing to grammatical errors, bad expression, word misuse, etc. 
  • Two passages will be given for translation. One has to be translated from English to Hindi and the other from Hindi to English. 
  • The total marks in this section are 250.

Civil Law – I (200 Marks)

  • Indian Contract Act
  • Law of Torts
  • Indian Sale of Goods Act
  • Delhi Rent Control Act
  • Hindu Law
  • Indian Partnership Act
  • Mohammedan Law
  • Specific Relief Act

Download FREE Delhi Judiciary Study Materials by Judiciary Gold

Civil Law – II (200 Marks)

  • Law of Limitation
  • Civil Procedure Code
  • Law of Registration
  • Law of Evidence

Criminal Law (200 Marks)

  • Indian Evidence Act
  • Criminal Procedure Code
  • Indian Penal Code

Delhi Civil Judge Syllabus PDF

You can know the detailed information about topics to be studied in the below PDF. Download the below syllabus for Delhi Judicial Exam and start your preparation. Follow expert-curated preparation tips for Delhi Judiciary to score good marks. 

Download Delhi Judiciary Syllabus PDF

Delhi Judiciary Viva Voce Details

  • The viva-voce round or the interview process is assigned 150 marks.
  • If you belong to the general category, then you must secure at least 40% in both the written examinations to get selected.
  • If you belong to reserved categories, including Scheduled Tribes, Physically Handicapped, and Scheduled Castes, you have to obtain 35% in both written examinations.
  • For the general category, a minimum of 50% marks is necessary to be eligible for Delhi Judiciary Service.
  • For the reserved category, you have to secure at least 45% marks to be eligible for the final selection.
  • For the final merit list, the authorities will add marks secured in the main examination and viva-voce to calculate aggregate.

Delhi Judicial Services Exam Pattern 2021

The Delhi Judiciary Examination is conducted in three stages – the preliminary examination, the main examination, and the viva voce.

Delhi Judiciary Prelims Exam Pattern 2021

  • The format is objective and has 200 questions.
  • As per the Judiciary Exam Pattern, for every wrong answer, 0.25 marks are deducted from the final score. 
  • The Delhi judiciary 2021 syllabus includes legal problems, general knowledge, skills in English, and aptitude.

Delhi Judiciary Mains Exam Pattern 2021

  • The format is descriptive and is given a score out of a total of 850 marks.
  • The exam has four sections, with three of them having a total of 200 marks and one 250.

Delhi Judiciary Viva Voice

  • Candidates who have cleared the main examination are enlisted for the viva voce.
  • The candidates are given a score out of 150 in the viva voce.


What is the stages included in Judiciary Exam Selection Process?

The Judiciary Exam Selection Process varies for each state. However, there are three major stages involved in selection of candidates for Judiciary posts that is Preliminary Exam, Mains Exam, and Viva-Voce.

Which are important topics in Judiciary Prelims Exam?

The Preliminary exam syllabus varies for few states. but there are few common topics in each state that includes topics like 

  • General Knowledge, 
  • Aptitude English, 
  • Constitution of India, 
  • Code of Civil Procedure
  • Criminal Procedure Code
  • Transfer of Property Act
  • Indian Contract Act
  • Indian Penal Code
  • Indian Evidence Act
  • Law of Torts

How many attempts can you make to pass the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination?

The number of attempts that you can make to pass the Judiciary Service Examination depends on the upper and the lower age limit of a particular state. In the case of the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination, the lower and upper age limit is 21 and 32 years respectively. If you do the required calculations, you will find that you have 12 attempts. However, most state Judiciary Service Examinations are not conducted every year. As such, the maximum attempts that you can make are 6.

Is Delhi Judiciary Service Examination tough?

Whether Delhi Judiciary Service Examination is hard or easy is entirely subjective. What may appear easy, and simple to one aspirant can be quite difficult for another. However, to crack the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination, absolute concentration and determination are necessary.

Also, detailed information about the local laws of Delhi is absolutely vital. You can take the help of a coaching platform, or you can study by yourself. If you are confident that you can do it on your own, it is vital that you buy the required books and start the preparation today!

When is the best time to start preparing for Delhi Judiciary?

If you are absolutely determined to appear for the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination, then the best time to start the preparation is in the 4th year of the law course. It is because, during this time, more focus is given on the Criminal Procedure Code, Evidence Act, Indian Penal Code, Personal Laws, etc. Studying these major acts for both the session examination and the Delhi Judiciary Services will aid you to reduce the massive load of the syllabus and keep the topics fresh in your head. 

Is there negative marking in the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination?

Yes, there is provision for negative marking in the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination. However, you must also keep in mind that the criteria of negative marking depends from state to state and is not a fixed criteria applicable to all Judiciary Examinations.