Free Tests


Total Tests 36
Explore More

Know the exam

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is one of the prestigious and toughest competitive exams in India. Previously named as ICS or Imperial Civil Service, IAS Exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). On qualifying this exam, candidates shall be recruited as Officers of All India Civil Service. TopRankers in collaboration with Khan Study Group provides you step by step guidance so that you qualify the exam with flying colors.

An IAS officer is entitled as the District Collector with the administrative command over an entire district. An IAS officer is also responsible to represent the Government of India at International Levels for the purpose of bilateral or multilateral discussions.

UPSC IAS Notification 2019

UPSC follows a general timeline process through which it conducts several phases of the Civil Service exams throughout the year. The notification for 2018 is already out and the exam stages under process. You can find all information about UPSC 2018 below. But for all those, who are aiming to sit for UPSC IAS exam 2019 can check out the general calendar followed by UPSC for the recruitment Process.

Check Out Official UPSC IAS Notification 2018 Here

UPSC IAS Recruitment Calendar
Event Tentative Date
Release of Notification 19.02.2019
Last Date of receipt of Application 18.03.2019
Prelims Exam 02.06.2019 (Sunday)
Prelims Result Month of July
Mains Exam 20.09.2019 (Friday) 5 days
Mains Result November/December
Interview March
Final Result May

Vacancy Announcement IAS Exam 2018

UPSC had announced a vacancy of 782 posts under different categories in the year 2018. Find the detailed list below:

UPSC IAS Vacancy
Category No. of Vacancies
SC 123
ST 55
OBC 200
UR 404
Total 782

Among these, there are some reserved for Physically Handicapped category.

Important UPSC IAS Exam Date

UPSC IAS Exam Date
Events IAS Exam Dates
Exam Notification Released 7th Feb 2018
Application Starts 7th Feb 2018
Late Date of Application 6th March 2018, till 6 P.M.
Prelims Examination 3rd June 2018
Prelims Result 14th July 2018
Mains Examination Starts 28th September 2018 (5 Days)
Mains Result Probably in the month of December
Personality Test Will be notified
Final Results Will be notified

How to Apply Online for IAS Exam

The steps of online application procedure consists of 4 sections as mentioned below. However, the registration of the year 2018 has been closed.

The payment of application fees can be done by both online and offline method. Offline payment can be done at nearest SBI banks and online mode payment is done through Debit/ Credit card or Net banking.

After the payment, you can login to fill up the IAS Application form and chose your IAS Exam Centre. With successful entry of all qualification details you shall proceed to the next section.

After Verification of all input details, candidate need to upload a proper format photograph. After uploading, don’t forget to check if it is being displayed properly. Similarly the scanned copy of signature is to be uploaded.

  1. Registration-I
    • Visit UPSC official website. Click on Apply for UPSC Civil Services
    • Enter the required details: Name, Gender, Category, Nationality and personal information.
    • Click the Submit button
    • You will be redirected to payment step.
  2. Payment of Application fee
  3. Registration – II
  4. Image Upload and Signature

Eligibility Criteria for IAS Exam

The candidates aspiring for IAS exam must fulfil the Eligibility Criteria to attend the exam.

Educational Qualification:

The candidate must have completed Bachelor’s Degree or awaiting final results from recognized university, having professional or technical education from govt. recognized institutions or equivalent are eligible to apply.

Age limit:

The candidate must be above 21 years or less than 32 years on 1st August 2018. But the upper age limit is subject to relaxation for different categories. Find the details of relaxation below:

Age limits for Different Category
Category Maximum age Limit (Years)
Ex-Servicemen 5
Defence Services Personnel/disabled in operations with foreign countries 3


UPSC exams have specific Nationality rules for candidates appearing in the exam. The detailed criteria are as follows:

  1. For IAS or IPS exam, the candidate must be a citizen of India
  2. For other services, the candidate can be:
    • Citizen of India
    • Citizen of Nepal
    • Subject of Bhutan
    • Tibetan refugee permanently settling in India before 1st January 1962
    • Having Indian origin and has permanently migrated and settled from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam.

The candidates under sections b, c, d, e must produce a valid certificate issued by Govt. of India. Besides, those falling under category b, c, d shall not be eligible for Indian Foreign Service.

Maximum Number of attempts

  • General: 6 attempts (upto 32 years)
  • SC/ST: no limits (upto 37 years)
  • OBC: 9 attempts (upto 35 years)
  • Physically Handicapped: 9 attempts for general and OBC, no limits of SC/ST

Selection Procedure of IAS Exam

The complete selection procedure for IAS Officer Recruitment consists of 3 stages:

  1. Prelims
  2. Mains
  3. Personality Test

Exam Pattern and Syllabus:

Prelims Exam

The Prelims stage consists of 2 sections:

  • General Studies Paper I - Score based Test of 200 Marks.
  • General Studies Paper II - Qualifying Nature with cut off of 33% out of 200 Marks.

The Prelims stage include topics like Current affairs, History of India, Indian and World geography, Indian polity, Economics and social development etc.

Negative Marking: There is negative marking for all questions in Prelims Stage. For every wrong answer, 1/3rd of marks allotted to the question i.e.,0.66 shall be deducted from your secured marks.

Mains Exam

The Mains Stage is a written exam of 9 papers including:

The qualifying papers are:

  • Paper A - Any one Indian Language
  • Paper B - English

Papers to be counted for Merit are:

  • Paper 1 - Essay writing
  • Paper 2 (General Studies I) - Indian heritage with World History and geography.
  • Paper 3 (General Studies II) -Governance, Polity, Constitution, Social Justice and International relations.
  • Paper 4 (General Studies III)Bio-diversity, Environment, Technology and Economic Development.
  • Paper 5 (General Studies IV)Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude.
  • Paper 6 - Optional Subject
  • Paper 7 - Optional Subject

The mains written test comprise of a total of 1750 marks.

The Interview or Personality test consists of 275 marks.

Negative Marking: In case of Mains exam also the same penalty is applicable i.e., for every wrong answer, 1/3rd of marks assigned to that question is deducted from the secured marks. Negative marking is applicable only to questions having multiple choice.




Scroll to Top