SSC CGL 2017 Order of Attempt : Score High Marks in SSC CGL Tier I

SSC CGL 2017 Order of Attempt – Tips to attempts SSC CGL 2017 paper to score high marks

SSC CGL 2017 Order of Attempt: The Best order of attempt

SSC CGL 2017 is one of the most popular government job sought after by thousands of graduates every year. Lakhs of candidates appear for the exam every year. SSC CGL is abbreviated as Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate level. SSC CGL is a highly respected post and candidates.

The SSC CGL 2017 or SSC Combined Graduate Level exam every year for recruitment to non-technical Group B and Group C non-gazetted posts in various departments and ministries of the Government of India.

The most important thing about SSC CGL is to be able to manage your time efficiently. There is very limited time when it comes to solving questions in the SSC CGL.

Take FREE Paramount SSC Test

Most important points to remember while solving SSC CGL:

1. Effectively utilize your time in exam to maximize your score

2. Divide time among various sections

3. Solve sections that are will fetch you marks

4. Cover all important topics

SSC CGL 2017 Important dates for exams:

Activity Dates
Application Opens 16th May
Last Date for registration 16th June 2017
SSC CGL Tier I exam 1st August to 20th August 2017
SSC CGL CGL Tier II exam 10th – 11th November 2017
SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam 21st January 2017
Skill Test/ Computer Skill Test February 2018

SSC CGL 2017 Examination:

SSC CGL 2017 exam will be conducted in four tiers. Candidates will have to qualify in Tier I, Tier II, Tier III and Tier IV with a high score to secure a rank in the final merit list released by the SSC. The appointment of posts for candidates will be done on the basis of the rank and posts selected. Candidates will have to clear each level of Tier exams.

Stage I: Tier I Online Test

Stage II: Tier II Online Test

Stage III: Tier III Descriptive Test

Stage IV: Tier IV Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) and Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

Paper I and Paper II are compulsory for all posts. Paper 3 is only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Gr.II and Compiler”. Paper 4 is only for the post of Assistant Audit Officer. The Tier 2 exam has a negative marking scheme of 0.5 marks or half mark in Paper I, III, and IV. The negative marking scheme is 0.25 marks in Paper II. The exam duration is 2 hours and 40 minutes for candidates who are visually handicapped.

Exam Pattern:

Stage I: Tier I online Test

This is the first level of test conducted for all candidates. The stage I examination tests the basic understanding of the candidates. It will be a computer based test having Objective type questionnaire for 200 marks. Marks scored in Tier I will be considered for Descriptive test and CPT or DEST. Candidates who qualify for Tier I as per cutoff score of the SSC CGL will be eligible for appearing in Tier II of the exam.



No. of questions



General Intelligence and Reasoning




General Awareness




Quantitative Aptitude




English Comprehension






Order of Attempt: Order Of attempt would be to first attempt questions that are easy and then move on to questions that are difficult. Lets look at how attempting questions in a particular way will help you to score better in the exams.

SSC CGL Order of Attempt

Sr. No




English Language


10-12 mins

If your vocabulary is good enough, English language wont take a lot of time. Also you can quickly run through the Reading Comprehension section. Working on your grammar and comprehension will help you.

General Awareness


8-10 mins

Unlike other sections, this section can be highly scoring if you know the answers. Don’t get stuck on any thing. If you don’t know, just move on.



8-10 mins

Analogies and classification, word formation, coding and decoding, Begin with simple questions. Do not spend more than 20 minutes on the test. Follow up this with Quant.

Quantitative Aptitude


18-20 mins

Your score and speed over here will generally be determined by how well you performed in mock tests. Solve simpler problems like Number series, Simplification, Quadratic equations, Approximation, Simple DI.

We hope this helps you to solve the exams faster and manage your time more efficiently. You may also choose to modify this based on how you like. The thing to remember is that you must solve sections of the paper that you find easy and move on to questions that are easier. Experiment with different combinations. You might find a section more easier than the other section, so attempt that section first. You can reorganize this order and do as you like in the SSC CGL Exams.

Practice makes a man perfect, going by the old adage. So practice as many mock tests as you can. Mock tests are a great indicator of how well you will do in exams. You can solve as many mock tests as you want and improve your score and increase your chances of success in SSC CGL.

Stay Tuned for more updates on SSC CGL 2017!


TopRankers Paramount is the best whether it the faculty, study material, management or test series. Believe me! It is the No. 1

Prateek Sharma S.I. IN ITBP

Share your thoughts/queries here!

1 thought on “SSC CGL 2017 Order of Attempt : Score High Marks in SSC CGL Tier I

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *