Nobel Prize Winners 2018 | G.K. Notes for SSC and Banking Exams!

Nobel Prize Winners

Nobel Prize Winners 2018 – Get the updates of all the Nobel Prize awardees of 2018. Also, see who won the Nobel prize in 2017 and in which field in this article.

Nobel Prize Winners

History of Nobel Prize: Alfred B. Nobel, the Swedish chemist and engineer who invented dynamite, left $9 million in his will to establish the Nobel Prizes, which are awarded annually, without regard to nationality, in six areas (peace, literature, physics,chemistry, physiology or medicine, and economic science) “to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind.”

Join Live Discussion & Quiz on Nobel Prize Winners

About Nobel Prize: Winning a Nobel prize is one of the highest honors one can receive. Whether the laureate is an internationally known figure like Mother Teresa or Barack Obama(winners of Nobel Peace Prize 1979 and 2009 respectively) or a scientist who has done extraordinary in his respective field. Nobel Prize is often given to people who have done wonders in their own field and mankind has benefited from their contributions.

Get Unlimited Railway/SSC/Banking Test Plans

Nobel Prize Winners 2018

Nobel Prize in Economic Science 2018

The Nobel Prize winner for Economic Science has been awarded to William D. Nordhaus and Pau M. Romer for their excellence in the field of Economic Science. William D. Nordhaus (United States of America) received this honor for integrating climate change into a long-run macroeconomic analysis. Paul M. Romer (United States of America) was awarded for integrating technological innovations into a long-run macroeconomic analysis.

William D. Nordhaus Paul M. Romer

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 with one half to Frances H. Arnold ”for the directed evolution of enzymes” and the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter ”for the phage display of peptides and antibodies”.

Frances H. Arnold George P. Smith Gregory P. Winter

Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

American scientist Arthur Ashkin, French engineer Gérard Mourou, and Canadian professor Donna Strickland have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work in the field of laser physics.Dr. Ashkin has been awarded the Prize “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems,” stated the official Twitter handle of the Nobel Prize, given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Dr. Mourou and Dr. Strickland have been awarded “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.”

Arthur Ashkin   Gérard Mourou  Donna Strickland 

Nobel Prize in Medicine 2018

Two scientists who discovered how to harness the body’s immune system to fight cancer have won the 2018 Nobel prize in physiology or medicine. James Allison, of the US, and Tasuku Honjo, of Japan, will share the 9m Swedish kronor (£775,000) prize, announced by the Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

 James Allison  Tasuku Honjo

Nobel Peace Prize 2018

The Nobel Prize winner for Peace Prize has been announced on 5th October 2018. The prestigious Nobel Peace Prize has been won by Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege. Murad is the second youngest Nobel Peace prize holder at the age of 25. She has also won the Vaclav Havel Human Right Prize and Sakharov Human Rights Prize, 2016. Denis Mukwege, a doctor by profession, has spent a big section of his life treating the victims of sexual assault at the Democratic Republic of Congo. The efforts made by both to end sexual violence as a weapon of war has been recognized by this award.

Denis Mukwege  Nadia Murad

Nobel Prize in Literature 2018

The Nobel Prize winner for Literature has not been disclosed yet. We will update it as soon as it is awarded.

Check out the Nobel Prize Award Winners for 2017

Stay tuned for more updates on Nobel Prize winners!


Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *