List of Prime Ministers of India since Independence


List of Prime Ministers of India since Independence – Complete List of Prime ministers and terms served for General Awareness

List of Prime Ministers of India since Independence

Prime Minister of India is the Chief Executive of the Government of India. In the parliamentary system of Democracy, the president is the head of state, but the de facto executive powers are vested in the Prime ministers and Council of Ministers. The Prime minister is the leader of the party or alliance that has a majority in Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian parliament.

Since, 1947, India has had 14 Prime ministers. The First Prime Minister of India was Jawaharlal Nehru from the Indian National Congress who was sworn in on 15th August 1947. Nehru is the longest serving Prime minister till date who was in office for close to 17 years from 1947 to 1964. He was elected as prime minister thrice first after India became a republic in 1950 and first time as PM in 1947. He has served close to four terms as prime minister. Indira Gandhi was the only Woman Prime minister of India.

Take Bank Exams Mock Tests

The Current Prime minister of India is Narendra Modi who assumed office in 2014. List of Prime Ministers of India since Independence:



Time Period

Political party

1 Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964 Indian National Congress
2 Gulzarilal Nanda 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964 Indian National Congress
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966 Indian National Congress
4 Gulzarilal Nanda 11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966 Indian National Congress
5 Indira Gandhi 24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977 Indian National Congress
6 Morarji Desai 24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979 Janata Party
7 Charan Singh 28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980 Janata Party
8 Indira Gandhi 14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984 Indian National Congress
9 Rajiv Gandhi 31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989 Indian National Congress(Indira)
10 Vishwanath PratapSingh 02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990 Janata Dal
11 Chandra Shekhar 10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991 Samajwadi JanataParty
12 P. V. Narasimha Rao 21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996 Indian National Congress
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996 Bharatiya Janata Party
14 H. D. Deve Gowda 01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997 Janata Dal
15 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004 Bharatiya Janata Party
16 Dr. Manmohan   Singh 22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014 Indian National Congress
17 Narendra Modi 26-May-2014  to present Bharatiya Janata Party

Stay tuned for more updates on List of Prime Ministers of India since Independence


Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *