List of current Governors in India in 2017


List of current Governors in India in 2017 – Complete List of governors of all states, Lieutenant governors and administrators in Union territories .

List of current Governors in India in 2017

President of the Republic of India is the head of state of India and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is elected indirectly by a electoral college. In the Republic of India, the governor is the constitutional head of each of the 29 states. The governor is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years and hold office at the President’s pleasure. Governor must act on the advice of the elected council of ministers in the legislative assembly headed by the Chief minister. The constitution of India empowers the governor to act upon his or her own discretion, including the ability to appoint or dismiss a ministry or recommend the President’s rule if required. Over, the years there has been a rise in the conflict between the ruling party in the state and the governor appointed by the center.

There are 7 union territories namely Andaman and nicobar, Delhi and Puducherry, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Damn and Diu, Lakshwadeep. Andaman and Nicobar, Delhi and Puducherry are are headed by lieutenant governors. Here Delhi and Puducherry have governors who play more of a ceremonial role. The other four territories like Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Lakshwadeep are governed by an administrator, unlike administrator of other territories who are drawn from IAS or the Indian administrative service.

List of current Governors in India in 2017:




Andhra Pradesh
E. S. L. Narasimhan 28 December 2009
(8 years, 17 days)
Arunachal Pradesh
B. D. Mishra 3 October 2017
(103 days)
Jagdish Mukhi 10 October 2017
(96 days)
Satya Pal Malik 4 October 2017
(102 days)
Balram Das Tandon 25 July 2014
(3 years, 173 days)
Mridula Sinha 31 August 2014
(3 years, 136 days)
Om Prakash Kohli 16 July 2014
(3 years, 182 days)
Kaptan Singh Solanki 27 July 2014
(3 years, 171 days)
Himachal Pradesh
Acharya Dev Vrat 12 August 2015
(2 years, 155 days)
Jammu and Kashmir
Narinder Nath Vohra 25 June 2008
(9 years, 203 days)
Draupadi Murmu 18 May 2015
(2 years, 241 days)
Vajubhai Vala 1 September 2014
(3 years, 135 days)
P. Sathasivam 5 September 2014
(3 years, 131 days)
Madhya Pradesh
Om Prakash Kohli
(Additional charge)
8 September 2016
(1 year, 128 days)
C. Vidyasagar Rao 30 August 2014
(3 years, 137 days)
Najma Heptulla 21 August 2016
(1 year, 146 days)
Ganga Prasad 5 October 2017
(101 days)
Nirbhay Sharma 26 May 2015
(2 years, 233 days)
Padmanabha Acharya 19 July 2014
(3 years, 179 days)
S. C. Jamir 21 March 2013
(4 years, 299 days)
V.P. Singh Badnore 22 August 2016
(1 year, 145 days)
Kalyan Singh 4 September 2014
(3 years, 132 days)
Shriniwas Patil 20 July 2013
(4 years, 178 days)
Tamil Nadu
Banwarilal Purohit 6 October 2017
(100 days)
E. S. L. Narasimhan
(Additional charge)
2 June 2014
(3 years, 226 days)
Tathagata Roy 20 May 2015
(2 years, 239 days)
Uttar Pradesh
Ram Naik 22 July 2014
(3 years, 176 days)
Krishan Kant Paul 8 January 2015
(3 years, 6 days)
West Bengal
Keshari Nath Tripathi 24 July 2014
(3 years, 174 days)


Office and union territory


Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Jagdish Mukhi
Administrator of Chandigarh V. P. Singh Badnore
Administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli Praful Khoda Patel
Administrator of Daman and Diu Praful Khoda Patel
Lieutenant Governor of Delhi Anil Baijal
Administrator of Lakshadweep Farooq Khan
Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry Kiran Bedi

Current Lieutenant Governors and Administrators of Union Territories

Stay tuned for more updates on List of current Governors in India in 2017!


Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *