“Digital Literacy is the ability of individuals and communities to understand and use digital technologies for meaningful actions within life situations”.

The goal of Digital Literacy is to teach and assess basic computer concepts and skills so that people can use computer technology in everyday life to develop new social and economic opportunities for themselves, their families, and their communities.

Making one person in every family digitally literate is one of the integral components of the Prime Minister’s vision of “Digital India”. Prime Minister’s digital equation on digital India is IT (Information Technology) + IT (Indian Talent) = IT (India’s Tomorrow)

The Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (DISHA) or National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM) Scheme has been formulated to impart IT training to 52.5 lakh persons, including Anganwadi and ASHA workers and authorised ration dealers in all the States/UTs across the country so that the non-IT literate citizens are trained to become IT literate so as to enable them to actively and effectively participate in the democratic and developmental process and also enhance their livelihood.

National Digital Literacy Mission Programme is a dynamic and integrated platform of digital literacy awareness, education and capacity programmes that will help rural communities to take lead in the global digital economy and help them in maintaining the competitiveness and also shape a technologically empowered society. NDLM is an effort to complement the objectives of National Optic Fibre Network (NOFN) plan to transform one from each household as digitally literate.

Specifications of the scheme:
• Two levels of training under the SCHEME
The two levels of IT training envisaged under the Scheme will have the following broad objectives:
1. Appreciation of Digital Literacy (Level 1)
To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.
2. Basics of Digital Literacy (Level 2)
Besides IT literacy at a higher level, the citizen would also be trained to effectively access the various e-Governance services being offered to the citizen by the Government and other agencies.

• Eligibility Criteria
Level 1 : Non-IT literate – Illiterate and up to 7th standard pass
Level 2 : Non-IT literate with at least 8th standard pass
Age : 14 to 60 years

• Course Duration
Level 1 : 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)
Level 2 : 40 Hours (Minimum 20 Days and Maximum 60 Days)

• Medium of Instruction
Level 1 and 2 : Official Languages of India

• Fee
Level 1 : For SC/ ST/ BPL Households, no training fee payable and for General candidates, course fee of Rs. 125 applicable.
Level 2 : For SC/ ST/ BPL Households, no training fee payable and for General candidates, course fee of Rs. 250 applicable.

• Place of Learning

The eligible households can nominate one person from their family. The selected person to get himself enrolled under this programme in a nearest Training Centre/ Common Service Center (CSC).

• Evaluation
Independent external evaluation will be conducted by a National level certifying agency like NIELIT, NIOS, IGNOU, etc.

• Project coverage

The Scheme is to be implemented in each State/ UT.
• Each State government and UT administration shall appoint a State Implementing Agency (SIA) to ensure the smooth implementation of the Scheme.
• CSC e-Governance Services India Limited, a Special Purpose Vehicle (CSC SPV) is strategically positioned to implement the Scheme for IT Mass Literacy and hence has been appointed as the PMU for the smooth implementation and monitoring of the Scheme across the country. The PMU has the responsibility to provide the desired support to DeitY and State Agencies in Programme Design, Development and Implementation like development of curriculum, developing an online monitoring mechanism for registration and learning of beneficiaries, conduct workshops, events, and so on.


Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *