How to Become a Certified Government School Teacher

How to Become a Certified Government School Teacher  – Details of Qualification and Certification requirements

How to Become a Certified Government School Teacher

Teaching is a booming and respectable profession as it is an important asset for development especially in our country India. If you love teaching and would like to take up a profession as a Certified Government school teacher, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Decide the school level you want to teach

You can become a teacher at three levels- Primary, Secondary and Senior Secondary. Primary level covers Classes 1 to 8; Secondary level covers Classes 9 & 10 and senior secondary covers 11th & 12th grades.

Take Teaching Exams online tests

  • The basic subjects taught at the Primary level are Reading, Writing, Arithmetic, Social Science, Science, and English & Grammar.

  • Secondary school level usually includes subjects like History, Geography, Hindi, Math, Science & Technology, Physical education, etc.

  • The subjects in the senior secondary level vary according to the three concerned streams i.e. Arts, Commerce and Science.

Analyze and decide which level of students you are comfortable teaching as different levels demand specific set of skills & knowledge.

Take FREE Paramount SSC Test

  1. Choose your preferred subject

If you have interest in a particular subject, say you are interested in becoming a Math teacher, learn what qualifications & specialization is needed for that field.

  1. Know the required qualifications

The first step in becoming a teacher is holding a Bachelor’s degree (BA/B.Com/B.Sc). Apart from normal degree certificate, B.Ed. degree is also necessary for pursuing a Teacher position. If you have a previous experience in Teaching, you will be more desired for the post.

The level-wise qualifications are as follows:

  • The minimum qualification for Primary level is Bachelor’s degree with at least 50% marks and pursuing final year B.Ed. degree. (Relaxation for reserved categories as per Govt. rules)

  • For Secondary and senior secondary level, the candidate must preferably have a Post graduate degree in the preferred subject along with a B.Ed. degree.

After a B. Ed. Degree, there is a hierarchy of levels in which you want to join as

a teacher i.e. PRT (Primary level), TGT (Upper Primary level) and PGT (inter

college level). The difference between the three levels is given in the table.


Eligibility criteria

Level of teaching

Necessary certificates


BTC or NTT or B.L.Ed.

1to 5th grades

CTET or State TET



6 to 10th grades

CTET or State TET



11th & 12th grades

Not required

Click For Latest Jobs

Good luck!


Team TopRankers


Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *