Articles relating to the Parliament of India & Summary of Indian Constitution articles

How many articles are there in the Constitution of India as of 2016?, How many number of articles in indian constitution, how many articles, parts and schedules are there in the Indian constitution

 India’s parliament is constituted on the basis of Principle of “Bicameralism”, so it has two chambers. The two houses are Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. Lok Sabha is the House of the People and Rajya Sabha is the council of States. The members of Lok Sabha are directly elected by the people. The members of Rajya Sabha are elected by the “Members of State Assemblies“. In India, the Parliament comprises President, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha but the President is NOT a Part of the legislature. This is in line with the British parliamentary system where the Parliament is comprised of Monarch, House of Lords and House of Commons. Though, this is in contrast with the Parliament of the United States (Congress), where President is NOT a part of the American Congress.

Summary of the Constitution articles related to Union legislature

  1. Article 79: There shall be a parliament which shall be consisting of President & two Houses.
  2. Article 80: Composition of the Rajya Sabha.
  3. Article 81 : Composition of the House of People (Lok Sabha)
  4. Article 82: Delimitation / Delimitation Commission.
  5. Article 83: Duration of Both the Houses of the parliament.
  6. Article 84: Qualifications to become an MP (Both Lok Sabha MPs and Rajya Sabha MPs).
  7. Article 85: President shall summon the houses of the parliament to meet (6 months is the maximum time limit provided between two consecutive meetings) & Prorogation and Dissolution of the Houses.
  8. Article 86: Right of President to address and send messages to Both the Houses of the parliament.
  9. Article 87: Special addresses by the President to Both the Houses of the parliament.
  10. Article 88 : Rights of Ministers and Attorney-General as respective Houses.
  11. Article 89 : Vice President of India shall be Ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and the Rajya Sabha members will choose a “Deputy Chairman”.
  12. Article 89 to article 98: Deal with the officers of the parliament such as Chairman of Rajya Sabha (89), Deputy Chairman (90,91,92), Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha (93, 94, 95, 96), Salaries of the Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Speaker, Deputy Speaker (97) and Secretariat of the Parliament (98).
  13. Article 99 & 100 : Conduct of parliament Business such as Oath by the MPs, Voting in Houses etc.
  14. Article 101, 102, 103, 104 : Disqualification of the members.
  15. Article 105, 106: Powers, Privileges, salaries , Allowances etc. of the MPs.
  16. Article 107, 108, 109, 110, 111: Procedure of introduction and passing of the Bills, Joint sittings in some cases, Money Bill, Assent to Bills etc.
  17. Article 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117: Financial matters such as Budget, Appropriation Bills, Grants etc.
  18. Article 118 to 122: General procedures of the Parliament.
  19. Article 123 gives the president the power to promulgate the Ordinance.



Share your thoughts/queries here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *